Black And White Journal Page

IMG_2820-001Today whilst trying to decide on a background colour for my journal page I was stuck, I normally like to use all different colours and really don’t have a least favourite one that I don’t like. So I asked myself what colour do I almost hardly use in my art and the answer is GREY!

So I decided I HAD to use grey as my main colour choice to challenge myself and see if I could actually do it!

This journal page is one I have created for an art challenge blog that I found this morning whilst googling called Fussy and Fancy Friday Challenge.

Every 2 weeks they have a new challenge theme, the current theme challenge is CIRCLES, of course I had to give it a whirl because I seem to be obsessed with circles at the moment!

As per usual I took a few pictures of the journal page as I worked on it so that you can see how I did it.

Instructions:

Step 1: I recently used my die cutter to make lots of new die cuts for my journal pages and of course I kept all the negatives that the die cuts where cut from with the intention of using them as stencils. The circle stencil I used for this page is one of those negatives. I randomly stencilled circles all over the page using black acrylic paint.

IMG_2811

Step 2: I mixed some white into the black acrylic to make a grey as I dont actually have any in that colour *shock* And using the mixed grey I stencilled more circles over the top, overlapping some of them on the black circles.

IMG_2812

Step 3: I watered down some white gesso and did a few more circles.

IMG_2813

Step 4: I sprayed the whole page using Dylusions Black Spray Ink and heat dried it.

IMG_2814

Step 5: Using a plastic dish as a template I painted a large white circle on the page using white acrylic paint. I also used a baby wipe to remove some of the ink off the painted circles so that they would pop more in the background.

IMG_2815

Step 6: To finish I added the words Black & White and also glued on some circle outlines small circle die cut shapes.

IMG_2816

Close Ups:

IMG_2818

IMG_2819
IMG_2821

6 thoughts on “Black And White Journal Page

  1. What a fab project, I love your journal page….it really fits the bill….thank you for joining us over at Fussy and Fancy Friday Challenge ….hugs. Jo. X

  2. What a brilliant couple of journal pages, thanks for the step by step pics. Thanks for joining us at Fussy and Fancy xx

  3. Such a dramatic page… your layers of paint look amazing circling over one another – great close-ups of the texture too! Thanks so much for joining us over at Fussy and Fancy.
    Alison x

  4. Oh I love this kind of work really good sample for our Fussy and Fancy Challenge thank you, if you look I think you will see we have similar tastes. Sam

Leave a Reply

