Blue and Cream Winter Page

IMG_2829

I created this winter themed blue and cream journal page after seeing the colour combo suggested on a challenge blog called 613 Avenue Create.

The theme this week is ‘Anything goes with a blue and cream colour scheme twist‘.

The challenge blog seems to be mainly for card makers but I never let a little thing like that stop me and decided to give it a whirl myself. :D

This is a very simplistic page for me and was quick to create yesterday whilst I kept getting interrupted by workmen knocking on the door every 5 minutes.

As usual I took a few photographs of the process so you can see what I did to create my page.

Step 1: I painted my journal page blue, then when it was dry I stencilled over the top using a lighter shade of blue acrylic paint and the negative left overs from my alphabet die cut outs as a stencil.

IMG_2822

Step 2: I took 2 embossed card stock blanks and swiped cream paint over the raised part of the design, when that was dry I sprayed over with a darker blue ink to create a contrast.

IMG_2823

Step 3: I stuck the embossed card down and then added 2 pieces of printed cream scrapbook paper which I cut the edges with using my shredding scissors. And then added cream ribbon to embellish.

IMG_2824

Step 4: I cut out a printed snow scene and layered it onto a sheet of blue card stock which I had torn and highlighted the edges using a Mediterranean Blue Brilliance ink pad. To finish I added blue ribbon and cream borders to accent.

IMG_2825

Close up of the texture on embossed card:

IMG_2826

3 thoughts on “Blue and Cream Winter Page

  1. Hi, Trish Bee! Your winter page is stunning! I am so glad you entered it into our challenge! Most of our entries are cards, that is true, but please know that we welcome all types of projects and are absolutely thrilled when our challenges inspire crafters from other disciplines.

    Thanks again and we hope you will continue to play with us.

    Hugz,
    Chana,
    Co-Owner, 613 Avenue Create

  2. Hi Trish~I love your winter journal page! We welcome all art forms & it is refreshing to see this in our challenge. It is truly beautiful. Thanks for playing in our neighborhood at 613 Avenue Create. We look forward to seeing you again.
    Hugs~
    Patti

Leave a Reply

