Feet To The Stars Art Journal Page

Over on my favourite art journalling group Cafe Dell Arte it was Becky’s turn this week to host our weekly prompt, Becky chose the first line of Sylvia Plath’s poem ‘You’re’ as a starting point: You’re…..Clownlike, happiest on your hands, Feet to the stars.

I googled up the poem as I wanted to know the full poem to get a feel for it so I would know what to create for my page, the full poem is printed below:

You’re

Clownlike, happiest on your hands,
Feet to the stars, and moon-skulled,
Gilled like a fish. A common-sense
Thumbs-down on the dodo’s mode.
Wrapped up in yourself like a spool,
Trawling your dark, as owls do.
Mute as a turnip from the Fourth
Of July to All Fools’ Day,
O high-riser, my little loaf.

Vague as fog and looked for like mail.
Farther off than Australia.
Bent-backed Atlas, our traveled prawn.
Snug as a bud and at home
Like a sprat in a pickle jug.
A creel of eels, all ripples.
Jumpy as a Mexican bean.
Right, like a well-done sum.
A clean slate, with your own face on.

- Sylvia Plath 
I decided to do my page about the unborn child which is what the poem is about.
Here is the first step of my page, using a pencil I did a quick sketch of what an unborn baby would look like and added stars, you probably notice I was working on the page upside down :)
IMG_2831

Next I used Neo-colour watercolour crayons and scribbled the colours on the page:

IMG_2832
Finished page after Id used a paint brush and water to blend the colours in together and flipped the page the right way up!IMG_2834

One thought on “Feet To The Stars Art Journal Page

  1. Fantastic Trish – you really captured the feel of the poem. When I read the challenge, I had no idea what it meant. You are one smart lady. Hey dummy me, read the poem. Love this piece of art.

Leave a Reply

