Think Outside Of The Box Art Journal Page

IMG_2842-001

I’ve decided to set myself a challenge of working my way through the challenge prompt ideas featured in Cynthia Louden’s free e-book entitled A Year Of Blogging And Journalling Ideas.

In her E-book there are 365 different prompt ideas, one for every day of the year hence the title :)

The first challenge in the book is:

Daring Myself

So in response to the prompt I decided I wanted to dare myself to¬†artistically¬†‘Think Outside Of The Box‘.

Im always looking for new ways to use my existing art supplies or for techniques I can twist and make them my own so this quote is very apt for me in a way.

To create this journal page I decided I wanted to use up some of my stack of handmade backgrounds, Ive always loved just painting and inking and creating colourful backgrounds from scratch to use in my art projects and I always have a stash of offcuts left over which I save just incase I need them at a later date. Well I decided today was that day and I would start to make a dent in my stash of backgrounds!

  • Using Paper Off Cuts Backgrounds

This is a pretty simple idea and one that can be used with your left over painted backgrounds or even printed scrapbook papers to create journal pages, greetings cards, artist trading cards etc.

Step By Step Instructions:

To begin with I used my paper trimmer to cut up random assorted sizes of the backgrounds:

IMG_2835

Then I played around with the shapes of paper and different sizes of papers until I liked how it looked and glued them onto my artist journal page like so:

IMG_2838

I decided it needed something bold and plain on the page to create a contrast so I added a die cut cut out of a rectangular frame:

IMG_2840

To finish I added the quote: Think Outside Of The Box using my Dymo Letrasett and outlined it using a drawing pen:

IMG_2841-001

Close Up Photos:

IMG_2842
IMG_2843

IMG_2844

 

One thought on “Think Outside Of The Box Art Journal Page

Leave a Reply

