A is For Adventure Journal Page

This is the first page I have done for the February’s A to Z Of Me journalling project which you can read about on the following link: http://anatozofme.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/starting-tomorrow.html

The first word prompt in this challenge is Adventure, you can read more about it here: http://anatozofme.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/a-is-for-adventure.html

Admittedly it took me a while to get going with this prompt because  was unsure how to begin as I’ve never felt the need or yearning for adventure because I’ve never felt like something was missing in my life, I’ve always lived my life through my art, art is my passion, my expression and the place where I make all my adventures and dreams come true. I don’t need fancy holidays in faraway exotic locations because I am happy within the confines of my own imagination and exploring it through inks and paints.

That is what this journal page is about; Art giving me the freedom and wings to fly and do whatever I want to do or want to be.

Step 1: I painted the journal page in 2 different shades of yellow.

IMG_2960

Step 2: I used a large chipboard letter A to make a mask by painted over the top of it in blue acrylic paint, then removing the letter after I was done to create a negative image of the letter.

IMG_2968

IMG_2969

Step 3: Using a foam alphabet stamp set I stamped the rest of the letters to make up the word using black acrylic paint.

IMG_2971

Step 4: Using a stencil and blue acrylic I stencilled the design onto my pages to make up a pattern

IMG_2972

 

Step 5: I stencilled on some black butterflies and a dark dome shape onto the page using black gesso.

 

 

 

IMG_2974
Step 6: I outlined the ‘Adventure’ word using a white gelly roll pen and used a black sharpie pen to darken the letters a little more. I also glued on the white birdcage die cut and then did a little journalling on the butterflies using the white pen.
IMG_2977

 

Close Up Of Butterflies

 

 

IMG_2978

Step 7: Next I took some printed die cut butterflies I had and added 3-d foam fixers to the back of the butterfly bodies , I also added a strip of torn inked scrapbook paper to the page to add a contrast.

IMG_2979

Step 8: And fixed them over the top of the black butterfly journalling shapes so that you can lift the wings and still see the journalling underneath. I also added the Art Gives Me Wings quote to finish.

IMG_2980

Obligatory Close Ups:

IMG_2982

IMG_2983

IMG_2984

One thought on “A is For Adventure Journal Page

  1. What a beautiful start to the journey! Love your journal page.
    Have just discovered this challenge and your blog.

Leave a Reply

