Live Your Dream Journal Page

I created this page because I wanted to see what this method of creating a journal page would look like, I wanted to create a colourful metallic background and then stencil over in black to make the metallic part pop, I had no idea if it would work or not so decided to give it a whirl and see!

Metallic Negative Background Instructions

Step 1: To begin with I painted my page black using black gesso, then using the negative cut outs from my die cuts as a stencil I stencilled over the page using white and silver acrylic paints:

IMG_3079

Step 2: Continuing with the same handmade stencil I added more layers of coloured metallic paints:

IMG_3080

 

Another shot of the above background from a different angle:

 

IMG_3086

Step 3: I decided to add a few more gold circles to cover the areas where there was no paint, the idea is to complete cover the entire page with as many different colour shapes as you can, you could also do this with ordinary acrylic paint too, I wanted to try it with metallics to see what it would look like.

IMG_3088

Step 4: Using a large Crafters Workshop stencil I stippled black gesso through the stencil until the entire page was done, below is what it looked like after gesso-ing:

IMG_3089

Step 5: I didn’t want to cover the design up as I liked how it looked so instead I found a small quote and stuck that on the bottom left hand side to finish.

IMG_3090

Another angle of the finished page:

IMG_3091

Obligatory Close Ups:

IMG_3093

IMG_3094

IMG_3096

 

One thought on “Live Your Dream Journal Page

Leave a Reply

