Nature Inspired Vintage Tag Sleeve Card

I am addicted to playing around with tags at the moment, I’m not sure why I just am! Of course I cant just make tags on their own, I have to have a little folder or holder to put them in so that means making a matching card too!

I have to say I’m really enjoying revisiting card making again after so long, don’t get me wrong I love art journalling but a girl has to have a change of scenery every now and then so I’m dipping my toes back in the card making waters for a little while and enjoying myself while it lasts.

Here is my latest tag booklet with matching tags, as usual I have taken lots of pictures so you can see how I created it.

Step 1: I folded an A4 sheet of card in half lengthways and widthways then made a pointy fold as you can see below:

IMG_3294

The above folds give you a pair of pocket sleeves as seen below:

IMG_3295

Step 2: I stamped the pointy card sleeve as shown below using a Dina Wakley stamp and a black brilliance black ink pad.

IMG_3296

Step 3: I stamped the back area with a script stamp and a brown brilliance inkpad, I didn’t stamp the entire area below because the pointy sleeves will be covering it up:

IMG_3297

This is what it looked like at this stage:

IMG_3298

Step 4: I added colour to the pointy sleeve and the back area using direct to paper techniques with dye based inkpads (note: direct to paper or DTP is where you smoosh the inkpad direct to the card to add colour)

IMG_3299

Step 5: I wasn’t happy with how it looked and decided I wanted more depth to the sleeves so I used a sponge, a brown brilliance inkpad and a Balzers Designs Crafters Workshop Stencil to add more colour:

IMG_3300

 

With Stencil Removed:

 

IMG_3301

I then flipped the stencil over and stencilled a mirror image of the design on the other side:

IMG_3302

Step 6: I used doubled sided tape to affix the pointy tag sleeve over the top of the background to create pockets:

IMG_3303

Step 7: I attached the entire pocket sleeve to the inside of a card blank using double sided tape and then embellished the front of the card blank using a tag I had previously stamped and prepared for this project.

IMG_3316

The inside view of the card showing tags in their sleeve pockets:

IMG_3317

Close up of handmade tags which are inserted inside the pocket sleeves:

IMG_3318

4 thoughts on “Nature Inspired Vintage Tag Sleeve Card

  1. This is terrific…but could you or someone help me? I would like to make one of these but then I dont know what to say to people when they ask what is it for? What do you do with it? With the tags? It is this way of thinking that stops me from making things much…or enjoying what I make…beucase no matte what it is, I am stymied by those questions. Silly I know, but I cannot help it.

  2. Tags are just another way of creating cards, you wouldn’t expect someone to ask you what a birthday card is for? Just enjoy it as a special one of a kind creation made especially for you by the sender. Art doesn’t have a reason or explanation, it just is. I create for therapeutic reasons, it helps take my mind off chronic pain.

  3. TYVM for your nice reply. Altho I meant how do I respond to those who ask me what to do with them when I make them…..the answer already came to me as I was writing this! lol

Leave a Reply

