Rubber Finger Groomer Paint Tool

On Monday after my usual routine blood tests at the hospital we went to the large pet store in town to pick up some cat food and doggy chews for our fur babies, whilst pacing the aisles of the store I noticed this nifty little rubber finger groomer for using with small animals:

fingergroomer

 

When you flip it over, this is what it looks like on the reverse side:

 

IMG_3343I’m always on the look out  for things I can use in my art so I decided to get one to experiment with and see what I could do with it, at the very least I figured I could use it to make multiple stamped dots on my handmade backgrounds.

Here are the results of my experimental dabblings:

First up I did some basic stamping with it, on the left I used an inkpad, and on the right I used acrylic paint:

IMG_3358

The next thing I tried doing with it was creating scratchy puddles, to do this I first splodged the paint on the page like so:

IMG_3359

Then using the tool I scratched the paint outwards to create a scratchy puddle:

IMG_3360

I really liked the effect of this so decided to use it on one of my Dina Wakley stencil girl shapes below:

IMG_3361

IMG_3362

Once I’d scratched the stencil design onto the page I flipped the plastic stencil mask over to create a scratchy stamped mirror image as you can see below:

IMG_3363

The picture below is just random scratching of the tool with paint to create marks on the page:

IMG_3364

In all I really like this new paint tool I’ve found and can see me using it more often in my backgrounds and journal pages. If you would like to pick one up yourself you can get them from Pets At Home and possibly other pet stores too.

Since I’ve taken these pictures I have now cut off the key chain part and removed it from the tool as it was getting in my way when I was painting with it.

6 thoughts on “Rubber Finger Groomer Paint Tool

  1. Pingback: Two Journal Pages To Share | Trish Bee Doodlez

Leave a Reply

