Alpha Challenge Letter Y Journal Page

I’ve finally finished my Letter Y for Yellow journal page for the Craft Barn Alpha Challenge Blog, the reason it took me so long to finish is because I couldn’t decide what to do! All I knew was that I wanted a yellow page because yellow is my favourite colour.

To start with I painted my journal page yellow and then glued on random scraps of paper:

image

Next I painted over it with more yellow acrylic paint:

image

It looked kinda bland and didn’t have enough layers so I started stamping various round shaped bowls onto the page with black gesso to give it some interest:

image

Then I forgot to take more pictures of what I did next!

I painted over the page again in yellow and liked the contrast between the light and dark areas on the background.

I added some circle punchies of book paper and glued them randomly over the background.

Then finally I stencilled on tiny dots using a different shade of yellow.

Next I decided I wanted yellow flowers so I painted some white paper flowers I had in 2 different shades of yellow and assembled the pieces together using a brad.

For the leaves I used a die cutter to cut them out (a bigz die) and stamped the leaves with a pattern stamp using green ink to colorise them.

I then glued the leaves and flowers onto the page along with the dictionary definition:

image

Here’s some close ups, you can still see the glue as I didn’t wait for it to dry!

image

image

image

image

image

Here’s my little helper who sat next to me as I finished this page:

image

Trish Bee

http://trishbee.wordpress.com

Posted from WordPress for Android

5 thoughts on “Alpha Challenge Letter Y Journal Page

  1. Well you sure do have a lot of layers and I can no longer see the black gesso you used. Even if the sun isn’t shining this bright yellow page will make your heart sing with summery thoughts.Well done and thats a cute dog you have there.

Leave a Reply

