Unleash Your Inner Butterfly Journal Page

The first prompt for the Journal52 group is to SOAR…to be perfectly honest when I started playing with this page I wasn’t even thinking about this challenge, it just happened all by itself.

To begin with I just let my brush dance on the page, I selected a palette of 4 colours and just played around with shapes and adding colour blocks to the page, once I had done that I used black paint to add some form to some of the shapes and give them random outlines, then set it to dry wondering what to do with it next….

SAM_1348

Then an idea hit me, I wanted to make a butterfly fly out of the background, to do this I took a sheet of scrap paper and folded it in half, then using a pencil I drew a random half butterfly-ish shape as you can see below:

SAM_1346

Then folded it out to reveal a butterfly!

SAM_1347

I used the butterfly shape as a mask, I put it over the background, then painted over it using blue paint as you can see from the picture below:

SAM_1349

Next using black paint I outlined the butterfly and painted in a body, once the paint was dry I used a white posca paint pen to outline the whole thing and make it pop:

SAM_1354

Finally I added more dotted doodles on the page with the posca pen and then stamped out the quote which came to mind as I was making the page:

SAM_1359

More pics for you:

SAM_1360

SAM_1355

SAM_1357

SAM_1359-001

2 thoughts on “Unleash Your Inner Butterfly Journal Page

Leave a Reply

