Bleak Mid Winter Canvas

I created this canvas collage using this months image challenge on Next Generation Stampers.

First of all I took a blank artists canvas and painted it various shades of blue, I added some silver mica to the background using white pva glue to adhere it to the surface.

Next I stamped onto the background using white gesso and a large dotty backgroud stamp. And then I stencilled some punchinella in black and added a sponged black frame around the whole canvas to box it in.

Heres what it looked like at the first stage:

4thcanvasblue1.jpg

Next step I cut out the image shown for this months image challenge and glued it onto the canvas. I then took some black gesso and mixed in some silver paint to lighten it slightly so it was a kinda gunmetal colour and not stark black. I used this paint mixture to randomly stamp snowflakes over the collage and let it dry.

I added the words ‘In The Bleak Mid Winter’ using my letratag – one of my favourite Christmas songs 🙂

Then using a black marker pen I added a frame around the words and also the image and I also added little dots around the image to frame it.

To finish the collage I used a white pen to draw around the snowflake shapes to make them pop out a little.

Heres the finished collage:

12thbleakmidwintercollage.jpg

3 thoughts on “Bleak Mid Winter Canvas

Leave a Reply

