Bird Song Skinny Page

I created this Skinny page for a Turquoise & Black themed swap which I have signed up for, we could use any theme we wanted so long as the colours we used were mainly blue & black.

I started off with a sheet of turquoise card stock and decided to ‘grunge’ it up using black gesso and smooshed it round the edges. I love using black gesso rather than o rdinaryblack acrylic in my artwork because the brand I use dries to a matt finish and it allows me to write over it with great ease which is a plus if your addicted to doodling like I am ๐Ÿ™‚

Naturally I decided to use my new favourite stamps taken from the Gothic Sheet by Home Impressions ๐Ÿ™‚ I am addicted to using birds in my artwork and I thought that the black bird image would look very striking against the turquoise blue background which I created.

The barbed wire you can see at the top of the skinny page is also taken from the same sheet, I thought it would make a cool header for the page and give it a real spooky edge.

I found this quotation online and fell in love with it and had to use it ๐Ÿ™‚

You can see it below:
14th1.jpg

One thought on “Bird Song Skinny Page

  1. hi trish
    oh this one is wonderful!!
    i am on the look out for a nice black bird/crow stamp-just love them
    i didn’t realize there was black gesso!
    thanks for sharing
    enjoy your day
    tabby

Leave a Reply

