Bandana Technique Hints & Tips

5th26.jpg5th27.jpg

I sent these hints and tips to my swap group on making the bandana technique work as Im hosting a swap on there 🙂 I thought Id publish the same hints and tips on my blog so that visitors into blogland can share too.

What is the Bandana Technique?

Click on the following links to give you a better idea…

http://trishbee.co.uk/?s=bandana

http://artbuzz.wordpress.com/

Basically put, the Bandana Technique is kinda like the Stamper Anonymous Stazon Technique – where you use brightly coloured inks and a white gel pen.

The difference with the Bandana Technique is that you dont use glossy card and you dont (have to) use the Stazon Inkpads.

You can use ANY method at all to make your colourful background – you can use spray inks, direct to paper techniques with dye or pigment inkpads, sponging, stippling or even simple brayering with a rainbow inkpad and a rubber brayer.

The tricks to making this technique work for you are as follows:

1. Stamp your images first – try to fill in the card area with as many different stamped images as you can, use text or collage style stamps to fill in all the little blank areas and add some detail!

2. The trick with the bandana technique is to have your black images as black as you can – so re-ink your black pads!

3. If you find your not getting as jet black a stamped image as you’d like; you can touch them up using a black
marker or gel ink pen – I do this a lot especially with the pattern stamps and collage type stamped images as its easy to touch these up with your pen. OR you can actually stamp your images with acrylic black paint if they aren’t too detailed!

4. COLOUR is important 🙂 I find that BRIGHT or DARK colours work best – dont choose pastel colours for this. You need to be heavy handed with the colour application. Embrace the colour!

5. Try to use more than 1 colour on your background – rainbow inkpads are perfect for this. 2-3 colours work best – more if you can!

6. If you cant get a very strong background colour then CHEAT a little 😉 Dont start with a white page – instead choose yellow or tan or a pastel colour card stock. This will help you a little with the colour build up.

7. Choose a good white gel pen, I personally recommend the Uniball Signo – this is ZE VERY BEST! A very close second is the Ranger White Gel Pen but the Uniball Rocks in my opinion 🙂

8. When outling the stamped images with your white gel pen try not to touch any of the black stamped outlines of the stamped images as you will only make greyed outlines rather than pure white ones.

Instead you use the white pen to outline just ‘off’ the black outlines as if you are creating a white shadow or halo around the image…

More tips when I think of em….

A Fabric Paper Experiment

Ive been making some more fabric paper as Im addicted to it 🙂 I wanted to have a bit of an experiment using this clever technique to compare the finished results of these background papers on different surfaces.

For the purpose of my experiment I started off with 3 different bases to make the paper on:

Fabric Paper Base 1: Using Tyvek.

Fabric Paper Base 2: Using Muslin (thanks Rosie)

Fabric Paper Base 3: Using Art Paper from a sketchbook.

For this experiment I used the same glue, the same printed napkins, the same printed tissue paper, the same plain tissue paper and also the same yellow acrylic paint to colour the paper at the end.

Heres the finished results below:

Fabric Paper Using Tyvek:

Im so in love with the vibrancy of this technique on tyvek paper 🙂

Fabric Paper Using Tyvek

Fabric Paper Using Muslin:

As you can see theres a huge difference between the tyvek and the muslin papers. The muslin below is much more softer and the colours more gentle because they have soaked right into the fabric. Where on the tyvek above the colours are stronger because they are sitting on the surface of the tyvek because they cant soak through the surface (tyvek is waterproof)

Fabric Paper On Muslin

Fabric Paper Using ‘Art Papers’:

The following two papers where created on ordinary art paper which I tore out of one of my sketchbooks, the finished results remind me a little of the tyvek papers but the colours arent as strong because the paint actually soaks into the paper (it doesnt do this on tyvek).

Fabric Paper On Art Paper
Fabric Paper On Art Paper

Summary Of My Experiment With Fabric Paper:

I like the results of creating fabric paper on ordinary art papers and will probably make lots more of them on ordinary paper mainly because its CHEAPER – tyvek isnt as readliy available over here in the UK as it is in the USA.

Also the advantages with using paper is that you can TEAR the paper – you cant tear tyvek!! Believe me Ive tried 🙂 And I do prefer to tear my papers rather than cut these days!

The tyvek papers I’ll probably save for special collages and bigger projects where I need something extra special, I do prefer the LOOK of the tyvek papers more, mainly because the colours are so much more brighter and intense.

I’ll be making some more on muslin too as I love the overall softness of the finished results and also the fabric paper isnt as shiny from the glue as the glue has soaked into the fabric more.

I cant see me ever using the papers for anything sewing related because Im a paper, inks, paint and glue girl! Im allergic to sewing!

Before I finish this post, heres another background I did on Tyvek – this background is using all the same stuff as the other samples except for this one I didnt add any colour to the final layer because I wanted to see it in its naked form:

Fabric Paper Using Tyvek

See more about Fabric Paper on my previous post:

http://trishbee.co.uk/?p=813 

Also check out this page for more info:

http://arleebarr.squarespace.com/designjournal/2006/11/7/making-fabric-paper.html