Arting In 2009

In the new year I will be listing a lot more rubber stamps for sale on ebay so check back on my blog to see when I list them all.Ive decided I now need to get rid of probably 80% of my rubber stamp collection because I am now virtually unable to use my stamps now due to joint problems and issues with my hands as I can no longer grip nor do I have the strength to get a good stamped impression.

Rather than let the stamps gather dust here, as my health is not likely to improve Ive decided to recycle them and start listing and selling them on ebay and let others put them to good use.

Once Christmas is over Im going to take on the mammoth task of sorting through them all and taking photos and getting them listed for sale.

It looks as if I will be scaling down on the types of arts and crafts I will be able to do in the future due to limited mobility.

I wont be doing anymore paper crafts style projects because I find it too painful to cut and use paper and small items such as brads, eyelets etc.

So gone are the days were I will be able to create multiple book pages for swaps and also artist trading cards and so on.

Instead Im going to have to concentrate on much larger projects such as painting abstract canvases and making one off collages on a larger scale because working in miniature is too difficult for me.

Every cloud has a silver lining because Im not sad about not being able to stamp the way I used to anymore or create book pages, instead Im looking forward to it because I see it as a brand new challenge for me.

Im glad in a way as painting messy backgrounds is my first love and it will be nice to be able to concentrate on that and not be distracted by book pages, atcsย  and large volume assembly line style projects. I can pour my heart into one huge art project rather than get bogged down with the details of creating in mass numbers.

By getting rid of the stamps and art supplies I can no longer use I feel like I am being given a newfound freedom and that I will be able to create some ‘proper’ art as I wont have all the distractions of all that stuff I cant use cluttering around me and interferring with my creative process.

I dont know if that makes sense at all?

Roll on 2009 thats all I can say ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Arting In 2009

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your health issues Trish, but inspired that you’re always going to find new ways to express yourself artistically. I think your plan going forward makes perfect sense! You’ve been such an inspriation to me, I can’t wait to see what happens next!

  2. Trish hope you get well soon.. in appreciation of all you do to help others in their creativity I have awarded you a “SPECIAL” Blog award, please check out my blog to pick it up

    Dawn x

  3. Hi Trish,
    Really sorry for your pain but I’m so glad you’re not giving up. Sometimes it takes a major happening to turn our lives in a new direction. Looking forward to your art and inspiration.

  4. I too would like to express sorrow that you won’t be doing the papercrafting projects that you are so well known for. They have been an inspiration over the last few years to this artist-wanna be. Moving on & thinking positive of your more grander & larger projects is a good thing. Keep the artist faith!! Wishing you the best in 09.

  5. I would also like to take a moment to thank you for your inspiration over the past years. I’m a lurker from way back ๐Ÿ™‚ And I wish you improved health and the continued strength to create your artistic mark. The mediums in which we work are not what our art is measured by. Thank goodness because lately I seem to be using an awful lot of glitter! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

