A Date With Lara

tomb-raider-underworld-ss1

November 18 this year was the most anticipated date on my calendar – the day that Tomb Raider Underworld was released ๐Ÿ˜€

Ive had a love affair with Ms Croft ever since her first outing in Tomb Raider 1 on the Playstation 1, I remember spending hours and hours in St Francis Folly getting killed by crazy leaps and killer bats. Id never played a game like Tomb Raider before and I was hooked!

My love affair with Lara Croft has been loyal and steadfast over the years, I have played every installment in the series from the earlier Playstation 1 versions, the Playstation 2 versions and now finally the Next Gen version ๐Ÿ™‚ Be still my little beating heart!

By far this version of Tomb Raider is the best, cosmetically its fantastic, you can actually see the details of the terrain you are exploring. Rocks actually look like rocks! The water looks real, the scenery is breathtaking and the actual gameplay is second to none.

Tomb Raider Underworld is to me what Tomb Raider is all about – exploration! You can explore every nook and cranny to your hearts content seeking out secrets and artefacts. The actual puzzles within the game are not too challenging – they are easy enough to figure out so long as you stop and think for a minute.

S0me of the jumps and moves are borderline insanity but thats what makes playing Tomb Raider so much fun. My favourite part of the game was when I was swinging back on forth on one ofย  Thors huge hammers and then realising I had to jump off the hammer and land on a narrow platform in split second timing – INSANITY! There is NO WAY I will make that jump!ย  But this IS Tomb Raider, and I made the jump and lived to tell.

The game is short and sweet compared to earlier outings and the end comes far too quickly for me. But you do have the option of being able to revisit all your locations in treasure hunt mode once youve completed the game and have the opportunity to explore properly without worrying your going to trip a switch your not supposed to and get stuck!

The wait for Lara has been worth it and my loyalty to Ms Croft has been rewarded ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

