Metallic Mixed Media Canvas Art

I posted the first section of this canvas as a work in progress on my blog last month:
https://trishbee.wordpress.com/2009/03/30/work-in-progress-canvas/

Last night I finally finished the canvas and am happy with how it turned out, just dont ask me what its supposed to be!

After I glued on the chocolate foil wrappers and cd fragments to the canvas, I then painted over the entire canvas with black gesso and allowed it to dry overnight.

Once it was dry I took a craft knife and some scissors and used them both to scratch over the surface of the gesso’ed canvas to remove bits of the gesso and make it look old and distressed. As I did this some of the gesso flaked away from the surface revealing the colours of the foil underneath, I like how this looked.

To bring out the texture on the canvas I got some silver acrylic paint and dipped my finger into it and rubbed them gently over the surface to highlght the raised ridges and let it dry.

Heres some close up photos of the canvas so you can see the detail:

This is a close up shot of the metal Asian embellishment I added to the canvas, you cant see it on the other photo because of the camera flash.
Metallic Mixed Media Canvas Close Up

Another close up shot showing the cd fragments and the foil wraps. I like the texture and feel of this piece.
Metallic Mixed Media Canvas Close Up

7 thoughts on “Metallic Mixed Media Canvas Art

  1. I also like how this turned out Trish!!! It is so good to see you dabbling in art again. I hope you are truly enjoying doing it.
    chrissy

  2. I like the feel of this too.

    It also got me thinking about other ways to ‘scratch off’ a coat of gesso.
    I’m thinking some sort of a lightweight electric sanding thingy would be handy. I may see if I can find an old manicure nail sander somewhere. That is something that exist isn’t it? Or is that only in my imagination…

  3. I love your textured canvas Trish – fantastic! And Harry looks fab as a stained glass window and should be in one of the local PDSAs… I’m sure they’d love it. It’d make a great window, a fab print and superb greeting cards/notelets. Bravo!

  4. It doesn’t need to be, it just “is.” Love it, and great to see you back in action!

  5. VER nice Trish
    got to love texture and pretty shinny bits peeking thru…looks like a funky river is flowing thru.Loved your stained glass Harry as well and glad he was OK
    hugs
    Annette In Oz

Leave a Reply

