Journal Pages Using Gesso And Pastel Backgrounds

I decided to add some more detail to yesterdays journal page as it didnt feel complete.

I also started work on 2 more journal pages which you can see below, if you click on the thumbnails you will see them larger.

I created the backgrounds on all 3 journal pages using a blend of soft pastels and gesso with the magazine images; its a cool technique I picked up from Jan’s 52 Play Dates Blog.

The girl with pink hair on the January 2012 page was completely covered with gesso and I used both inktense and promarkers to add detail to her face, I did the same thing with the daisy image. Im rubbish at drawing faces and trying to make them look natural, so for this image I didnt even try to make her look realistic 🙂

Im unsure if these are finished yet, my muse will tell me if I need to do anything to them next, but for now Im leaving them be…

3 thoughts on “Journal Pages Using Gesso And Pastel Backgrounds

Leave a Reply

