Pain Free Journal Page

I did this journal page last night that I wanted to share with you. Its a pretty simplistic page, I was channelling my recent pain and ill health issues onto the page.

I used neocolour pastels wet on wet to scratch the background colours onto the page, the colours to me represent the colours of pain; searing hot burning pain. The face is disappearing into the background as the pain takes over; which is kinda how pain makes me feel; like its taking away my sense of self and who I am.

The words ‘Pain Free’ are a contradiction to how Im truly physically feeling, but they are true, because I always try to keep a tiniest tiny part of myself in my mind/soul where the pain never touches, its that tiny part that keeps me going from day to day.

 

It was kinda empowering to make it, the colours in the background is layers and layers of neo-colours which I couldnt stop putting down which represented the pain then the words over the top came from within, that one quiet place inside of me where I refuse to let pain penetrate. Confused me at first how I would write pain free on a page that was clearly about pain suffering.

2 thoughts on “Pain Free Journal Page

  1. Trish~I have something similar. I do art to help me forget the pain I’m in. It helps me concentrate on something besides the pain. I don’t like to define myself by my illness. Hang in there. I love your journal by the way.

  2. I am with you both! I envy how you can do that. I don’t know where my willpower comes from, except for my drive and passion for art. Some days are harder than others, but you’re right. It helps to get it out on paper. Maybe this was a good exercise to try Trish. Put it out there in the universe, being pain free. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

