Alpha Challenge Letter C Journal Page

This time over on  The Craft Barn’s Alpha Challenge Blog the theme is the letter C!

After much Umming and Ahhing I decided my word from the alphabet would be CROWN, I dithered on Coat Of Arms and Chivalry but in the end CROWN won because lets face it we all should act as if we are wearing an invisible crown!

So without further ado here are the step by steps I took to create my journal page, I had a lot of fun making it and I hope that you like the pictures I took 😀

Crown Journal Page Step By Step Instructions

Step 1: Using a pencil I stencilled out a large letter C on the left hand side of the page then I drew a shield type shape around the letter freehand.

IMG_2738

Step 2: I tore out papers from an old book into small scraps.

IMG_2739

Step 3: And glued the scraps inside the shield shape.

IMG_2741

Step 4:  I spray painted the entire page using various colours of radiant rain and homemade inks and heat set with my gun, next I stencilled through some sequin waste using watered down white gesso.

IMG_2764
Step 5: Then I painted the letter C in gold metallic paint and added a gold outline on the shield:

IMG_2765

Step 6: Next I wanted a nice metallic border so I took a roll of clear parcel tape and pressed it over a strip of sequin waste.

IMG_2769

Step 7: I rubbed on a strip of transfer foil onto the sticky side of the clear parcel tape and rubbed it well.

IMG_2770

Step 8: Then I peeled off the tape to reveal the foiled pattern on the tape:

IMG_2771

Foil transfer sheet after I pulled it off:

IMG_2772
Step 9: For the next step I gently pulled off the sequin waste to reveal the now patterned clear tape:

IMG_2773

Step 10: And stuck the patterned foil tape onto my journal page to create a foiled patterned border like so:

IMG_2774

Another angle of the tape:

IMG_2775

Step 11: Next I cut a strip of sequin waste and glued it down for a border.

IMG_2776

Step 12: The most important step for this challenge, I tore out my chosen word from a dictionary.

IMG_2777

Step 13: The final steps for this challenge I added 2 die cut crown shapes which I coloured in with gold paint, spelled out the word CROWN using die cut letters which I also painted and finally added 2 gold painted book hinges from grungeboard to complete.

IMG_2778

The finished page:

IMG_2783

Close Up Of The Dictionary Definition:

IMG_2781

9 thoughts on “Alpha Challenge Letter C Journal Page

  1. Many thanks for your step-by-step…I like what you did with the sequin waste too!!! The whole page is very Royal looking…fabulous! Thank you for joining us again over at The Craft Barn x

  2. I LOVE the way you used that foil transfer sheet–what a wonderful way to use it!!! Fabulous! If you have time, I’d love for you to play along with our challenges at Inkspirational and Technique Time Tuesday! 🙂 HUGS!

  3. hi Trish, I love this technique, and tried it using my tape and foil. However, my foil seems to have two colours, so when I turn it over to stick it down, the backside shows. Is your foil just a single colour? If so, What brand is it please?

  4. I’ve had my foil for years, some of the brands are going anymore like stupendous! some foil has a clear backing on it, this is the type you need, not the variety with the opaque backing. if you can’t find any like that, you could use what you have then flip it over and use it back to front on your card/journal with a strip of clear packing tape to cover the sticky part. I hope that makes sense?

Leave a Reply

