Regal Red Art Journal Page

I’ve been working on another journal page today which I wanted to share with you. I took plenty of step by step photos of the process for those of you who are interested in seeing how I created this.

Below is a picture of my journal page before I started working on it, Im using the Dylusions Journal, I love the nice big thick pages which are perfect for ink and papers. The pages below where used as my slop catching papers for the previous Crown journal page, I normally like to use drop sheets to work on but lately Ive been using the actual journal as my drop sheet to catch stray paints and inks that I slop off the pages of my projects.

IMG_2784

Step 1: I used the left over part of a sheet of card that I had used to cut out square shapes using a craft punch as a stencil and dabbed red acrylic paint through the holes.

Before:

IMG_2785

After:

IMG_2786

Tadaaar!

IMG_2787

The entire page was covered with red stencilled squares (I went a bit overboard ooops!)

IMG_2788

Step 2: I toned it down a little using pink and purple spray inks and dabbers:

IMG_2789

Step 3: I took a largish stencil template thingy bob and used this to stencil largish shapes with watered down gesso:

IMG_2792

The Gesso-ed shapes:

IMG_2793

Step 4: A little gesso stamping using the lids of my pritt stick and gesso tub:

IMG_2794

Step 5: Then I heat set it using my heat gun before progressing onto the next step:

IMG_2795

Step 6: It *needed* something extra so I stencilled on some gold squares using my makeshift stencil and gold acrylic paint.

IMG_2796

What the journal page looked like at this stage:

IMG_2797

My two little helpers who live on my art table 🙂

IMG_2798

Step 7: I randomly sprayed with red and purple homemade brusho inks then heated to dry.

IMG_2800

Step 8: For the next step I went OTT with gold, red, pink and purple acrylic paints and added shapes and layers until I was happy with how it looked. I also added the word REGAL onto the little overhanging tags as to me thats what the page summed up.

I was going to add some collage layers and a quotation to the page but decided against it because I liked how it looked and didn’t want to cover it up, what do you think?

IMG_2802

Close Up Of The Painted Pattern:

IMG_2803

Regal Tags:

IMG_2804

Another Close Up Shot:

IMG_2805

The finished page:

IMG_2809

2 thoughts on “Regal Red Art Journal Page

Leave a Reply

