Floral Blooms Mop Up Journal Page

I’m back again with another journal page to share with you, I needed to create a page with flowers on it for Maryann’s prompt over on Cafe Del Arte group. This page started life as one of my oversized pages that I use for catching excess paints, inks and glue on.

Instead of cleaning my brush and tools in between colour changes I simply dab off  the excess onto what I call my ‘mop up pages’ and put them aside for future use. Sometimes I tear up the mop up pages into smaller sections and put the pieces inside my journal to add interest, other times I use the mop up page in its entirety as the basis of my journal page like I did today.

Below is the mop up page before I did anything to it:

IMG_3187

 

As you can see the background on the mop up page above is pretty bright and already got a lot of detail and interest happening on it so it didn’t really need that much more adding to it as I didn’t want to cover up the background. Initially I was stumped what to do then I read about a challenge over on Tim Holtzs blog  to use the Tattered Floral Alterations Die in your artwork so I decided to use my floral dies so that I could enter the challenge.

To make my flowers using the die cuts, I sprayed them lightly with green, yellow and purple inks, then when they were dry I overstamped over them using a text stamp and a Brilliant Purple Ink Pad then finally pieced them all together using a brad.

 

IMG_3188

Close Up Of One Of  The Flowers:

IMG_3188-001

I tore the background into two pieces then glued the 2 halves into my journal so that the pages would open better in the journal like so:

IMG_3189

To finish the journal page I attached a couple of flowers using 3-d sticky tabs to give them a dimensional feeling. I added the stamped image of the quotation you see which says: Each Flower Is A Soul Opening Out To Nature.

IMG_3190

Below is a cookie cutter of a butterfly which I used to stamp the outline on the page to make a butterfly shape:

IMG_3191

The finished page complete with butterfly which I coloured in using sharpie pen and outlined using White Posca Paint Pen.

IMG_3192

As per, here are the obligatory close up shots:

IMG_3193

IMG_3195

IMG_3196

IMG_3197

IMG_3200

IMG_3201

3 thoughts on “Floral Blooms Mop Up Journal Page

  1. Your outpouring of creativity touches my soul! When I came across your blog, the name made me take notice. My mother’s name was Bea and my name is Trish so I just had to check it out. I am so glad that I did because your work has inspired me to create with my Mom’s spirit. Thanks and keep up your wonderful art.

  2. This turned out wonderfully vibrant. I love how you used the cookie cutter for the butterfly and the white dots around the flowers. I just started my first art journal. I’ll have to remember to create a mop up page when working with my inks and paints. 🙂

    Take a peek at my Tattered Floral entries:
    Rose Box – http://eridoodle.blogspot.com/2013/03/tattered-florals-vintage-rose-box.html
    and
    Lunch Bag rose – http://eridoodle.blogspot.com/2013/02/tim-holtz-tattered-florals-die-challenge.html

    Best of luck in the Tim Holtz Tattered Florals challenge.
    -Pam

Leave a Reply

