Animal, Vegetable or Mineral Journal Page

This is a belated journal page I made for the weekly prompt over on Cafe Dell Arte, the theme was Vegetables and when it was initially the prompt of the week I was feeling sickly with fibro flare so didn’t get chance to make my page. Today I decided to play catch-up and finally did my page for the prompt. I didn’t want to put a vegetable on my page so I twisted the theme challenge and instead did a page which looks a little like the view from a microscope.

As usual I took lots of pictures of how I did it so you can see the process.

Step 1: I have a plastic microwave bowl I use for stamping circles which you can see below, I painted the edges with black gesso and stamped the outline directly on my journal page.

IMG_3239

 

Stamped Circle Revealed below:

 

IMG_3240

Step 2: I painted the outside of the circle shape with black gesso and then used inktense blocks to scribble on some random blobs of colour within the clear circle as you can see below:

IMG_3241

Step 3: I sprayed water over the inktense to make the colours blend together.

IMG_3242

Step 4: When the inktense colours were dry I used a black drawing pen and a white posca paint pen to randomly draw around the edges of the coloured lines to make some random shapes within the colour to make it look like it was the view from a microscope plate, I also added a white border round the circle too:

IMG_3243

Step 5: I glued on the letters cut with my die cutting machine to spell out the words: Animal, Vegetable Or Mineral and then painted the page and letters with another coat of black gesso. Finally I used a metallic gold acrylic paint to pick out the words so they would shine off the page to complete.

IMG_3245

Obligatory Close Up (I didn’t wait for the paint to dry before taking the picture)

IMG_3248

Leave a Reply

