Shabby Chic-ish Grungey Girl Journal Page

I created this journal page for the Simon Says Stamp And Show Challenge which this week is to use some Shabby Chic elements in our artwork. I was a little flummoxed at first because I’m definitely not a girly girl at all but I do love a challenge so I didn’t let it deter me from making a page.

I decided to use one of my mop up page backgrounds in my journal which I had previously used to wipe off the excess black gesso from my paintbrush, first of all I sprayed it with turquoise dylusions spray ink to add a splash of colour:

IMG_3279

Next I cut a paper lace doiley in two and then glued it onto the page as shown:

IMG_3280

I next added a stencilled girl image which I had previously prepared on one of my scrap mop up pages using black gesso, the stencil mask image is taken from the new Dina Wakley’s Crafters Workshop stencils. Finally I added the word GAL to finish it off.

IMG_3282

3 thoughts on “Shabby Chic-ish Grungey Girl Journal Page

  1. I’m new to art journaling. I will have to remember to use a “mop” page. This pages looks fantastic.

  2. Thanks for posting on FB, Trish. I use mop up pages too in my art journal. And I like stencils. Sometimes I cut pix out of magazines and make stencils or masks out of them by backing with cardboard. You an even laminate if you really want them to last a long time. Great colors here and I like the doily.
    Coleen, an American in Ukraine

Leave a Reply

