Birds Of Sorrow Journal Page

I missed last weeks challenge on Simons Says Stamp and Show as I couldn’t create as I felt too ill, so I was determined not to miss it this week too! This week the theme of the challenge is to use quotes or music lyrics in our artwork, so I decided to make another journal page using one of my new bird stamps.

Step 1: I added a watercolour wash onto my page using watercolours:

IMG_3340

Step 2: I used a radiant rain ink dabber to stencil the image through a Crafters Workshop stencil:

IMG_3341

Step 3: Using light blue acrylic paint I stencilled a border on the page using another crafters workshop stencil:

IMG_3342

Step 4: I repeat stamped my new bird stamp 3 times on the page using black brilliance inkpad:

IMG_3344

Step 5: I cut up the quote and stuck it to my page and added a scribbled inky border around the words and a strip of printed scrapbook paper to finish.

You cannot prevent the birds of sorrow from flying over your head,

but you can prevent them from building nests in your hair

I decided to use this quote because I really love the sentiment of it, while we cannot control what happens to us in life, we can control how we react to it and also how we deal with it. Some people seem to thrive on misery and upset and then wonder why their ‘lot’ in life is always so hard!

IMG_3345Close Up:
IMG_3346

5 thoughts on “Birds Of Sorrow Journal Page

  1. Stunning page! The background is amazing, so colorful! And what a wonderful saying! Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. Hugs, Sandra

  2. I really enjoy your Art every week! This is bright and fun, and I love that you show your process and share it with us! The quote is wonderful here and the birds and stenciling perfect! Thank you for using your words with us this week here at Simon Says Stamp & Show!

Leave a Reply

