Background Hearts Cards And Journal Page

For this weeks challenge on Simon Says Stamp And Show we are asked to work with our background rubber stamps, I love my background stamps and don’t use them as often as I would like so I approached this challenge with gusto!

I wanted to figure out a way to incorporate 2 background stamps in one project and also bring the backgrounds into the foreground to make them a focal point instead of disappearing into the background.

To start with I took some pieces of scrap paper folded them in half and drew on half heart shapes like you can see in the picture below:

image

Then I cut out these shapes to make a heart shaped template for me to stamp through:

image

I flattened the heart template out and used it as a mask to protect the card and thus allow me to create a stamped heart shape on the card front.

Before:

image

After:

image

Once I had stamped a couple of heart shapes I started playing around adding colour to them:

For this one I decided to do the grid technique, by covering up parts of the card you can add strips of stamping and colour using sponges and inks to DTP the background, see the pictures below for details on how to do that:

Step 1

image

Step 2

image

Step 3

image

Step 4

image

Step 5

image

Finished card:

image

Another way of adding colour is to place your heart shaped template over the top of the stamped images and sponge colours through that like so:

image

image

Finally I added colours to my hearts using watercolour paints which gave it an nice clean and simple design.

Below are my completed cards and a journal page which I made using the background hearts:

Journal Page:

image

Handmade Cards:

image

image

image

2 thoughts on “Background Hearts Cards And Journal Page

  1. Fantastic pieces, love how you used your hearts as a mask and stamped the image though the heart, I do this a lot and love the technique. Wonderful images and backgrounds. Wonderful use if stamps and colours. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x

Leave a Reply

