Handmade Washi Tape Storage Box

I wanted a way to store my washi tapes, I don’t have a whole lot yet but still needed a container for the few that I did have. I asked on Cafe Del Arte if anyone had any ideas for storage and Tania shared her cool idea of recycling cereal packets to make shallow trays!

This was right up alley and I waited rather impatiently all week for my cereal box to be empty so I could use it!

I’m entering this into the Simon Says Stamp And Show Blog Challenge this week which has the theme of using colour mediums as I used a lot of acrylic paint on this πŸ™‚

First up I cut the cereal packet down to size, I used a ruler to help me get the measurements right:

image

Next using watered down glue and torn book pages I covered the entire thing with paper and left it to dry on a plastic bag as they peel right off once the glue is dry:

image

For the next step I added a coat of watered down white craft paint so that the text of the paper was still visible, when that had dried I stencilled on a design using bright pink acrylic paint.

Front:

image

Back:

image

Close up:

image

image

6 thoughts on “Handmade Washi Tape Storage Box

  1. Fabulous piece of recycling, love the text in the background and the fact it is still visible when you add your stencilled design. Love the pop of pink too. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x

  2. So cool!!! What a wonderful idea, and so practical! I love the stencil and bright colors! Thanks for showing us what colors you are made of this week here at Simon Says Stamp & Show!!!

  3. Love this and your stencil box projects, fabulous!! What stencils are they you’ve used, I’d love to get them. xxx

Leave a Reply

