How To Make 2 Storage Shelves From A Cardboard Box

I received a large cardboard box in the mail with our recent delivery of cat and dog food from zooplus. As soon as I saw the box I got all excited as I just knew it was the perfect size to make into shelving!

To begin with I used a marker pen and ruler to find the approximate middle like so:

image

Next using the lines as a guide I drew a wavy line on both sides and then used a craft knife to cut the shape out:

image

I kept the piece I removed, flipped it over on the other side of the box to use as a template to draw the pattern on (remember to use template back to front):

image

I then cut along the line using a craft knife:

image

Finally I turned the box upside down and drew a line to mark the centre of the box and then cut along the line with the craft knife:

image

Once I had cut the box apart, I was left with 2 separate shelves to decorate!

image

image

The next thing I did was glue an additional shelf inside the boxes using glossy accents (you can use resin or any 3d glaze such as dimensional magic) This stuff works wonders at holding the shelves in place, far better than ordinary glue!

One the resin had dried I reinforced the boxes with masking tape along all the creases and edges:

image

image

Next I covered the entire thing with torn scraps of book papers and glue:

image

image

I then left the shelves to air dry naturally for a few days before decorating them with acrylic paints and stencils:

image

image

image

image

Too much fun to create!

5 thoughts on “How To Make 2 Storage Shelves From A Cardboard Box

Leave a Reply

