Dylusional Christmas Tree Ornaments

I bought some cheap papier-mache blanks from The Range for 50p each when I was last in there with the intention of tarting up and making them look grungy. Yesterday I finally finished making them and quite like how they turned out, infact I might get some more to play with.

To begin with I painted them with white gesso because they were originally craft brown colour and I wanted to cover them with printed tissue, once the gesso was dry I glued over printed tissue paper with words and musical scores and let them dry.

At this point I wasn’t sure what to do next so left them to sit for a few days, yesterday it just so happened I had some extra metallic paint I needed to use up because I’d squeezed too much out of the tube, so I used my fingers to apply paint to the ornaments along the edge, ridges and folds.

I used a heat gun to force dry the paint and then using my Dylusions spray inks I blasted the ornaments with a generous coat of ink, I like how the metallic paint resists the ink and gives it a neat effect, below are some pictures of the fronts and backs – very bright and cheerful! Cheap and easy to do as well, would be perfect for the kids to do too!

oct21ornaments1 oct21ornaments2 oct21ornaments3 oct21ornaments4

 

One thought on “Dylusional Christmas Tree Ornaments

Leave a Reply

