Unleash Your Inner Butterfly Journal Page

The first prompt for the Journal52 group is to SOAR…to be perfectly honest when I started playing with this page I wasn’t even thinking about this challenge, it just happened all by itself.

To begin with I just let my brush dance on the page, I selected a palette of 4 colours and just played around with shapes and adding colour blocks to the page, once I had done that I used black paint to add some form to some of the shapes and give them random outlines, then set it to dry wondering what to do with it next….

SAM_1348

Then an idea hit me, I wanted to make a butterfly fly out of the background, to do this I took a sheet of scrap paper and folded it in half, then using a pencil I drew a random half butterfly-ish shape as you can see below:

SAM_1346

Then folded it out to reveal a butterfly!

SAM_1347

I used the butterfly shape as a mask, I put it over the background, then painted over it using blue paint as you can see from the picture below:

SAM_1349

Next using black paint I outlined the butterfly and painted in a body, once the paint was dry I used a white posca paint pen to outline the whole thing and make it pop:

SAM_1354

Finally I added more dotted doodles on the page with the posca pen and then stamped out the quote which came to mind as I was making the page:

SAM_1359

More pics for you:

SAM_1360

SAM_1355

SAM_1357

SAM_1359-001

Life Is For Living Not Planning Journal Page

So yesterday I revolted, I decided I didn’t want to make art in the little planner any more because it didn’t feel right! I decided to make an anti-planner page in response to how I was feeling at the time, I used some of the painted background Id created earlier and glued it onto a sheet of 12×12 kraft card which I added a splash of pale blue acrylic paint onto and added some bits to it:

SAM_1351

SAM_1352

SAM_1353

Journal 52 Handmade Book Covers

I have decided to take part in the Journal52 challenge, it looks like good fun with 52 prompts for the new year, you can join the facebook group here if you would like to give it a whirl: https://www.facebook.com/groups/738984112797994/

For this challenge I decided to make my book covers 6×6 in size, its a size I haven’t worked with much so I am looking forward to the challenge. I had some blank chipboard covers already in my stash so I covered them with torn scrap papers and added a sheet of embossed card that I had embossed with an embossing folder.

The colour of the book covers was achieved by adding many layers of purple and metallic paints and inks, then finally sanding the whole thing to give it the distressed look I was going for.

I added 2 huge book rings so that I could add a lot of pages to it, and the numerals where cut from scrapbook paper 🙂

SAM_1336

SAM_1338 (1)

2014 Intentions Journal Page

On Our Art  Cafe group our monthly challenge for January is to create a new year intentions page with a list of your dreams and ideals for the forthcoming year, when I started playing with this background I had no idea this is what it would become, it just came about from playing with paints, papers and shapes as you can see from all of the pictures below.

Step 1: the page started life as one of my messy mop up pages that I use for cleaning off my brushes on:

SAM_1328 (1)

Step 2: I glued on random scraps of paper over the surface:

SAM_1329 (1)

Step 3: I added a little stencilling:

SAM_1330 (1)

Step 4: I added random painted circles in purple, pink and black and set it aside to dry:

SAM_1331 (1)

SAM_1332 (1)

Step 5: I added circles from book paper that Id painted in a creamy colour acrylic paint:

SAM_1333

Step 6: I added the chipboard numbers 2014, and then used a white gel pen to add highlights to the page, then finally scribbled down my 2014 intentions into the circles:

SAM_1343

SAM_1344

SAM_1345